Monthly Archives: May 2012

“Penny” Recognized by National Board of Review

“Penny Dreadful” was awarded a Student Grant by the National Board of Review at Columbia University’s Faculty Selects Screening.

Shane Atkinson, Rob Cristiano, Oona Laurence (Little Girl), Rick Zahn (Hyrum), Marnie Schulenburg (Holly) and Ljova (Composer) were on-hand for the screening.

“Penny” Wins IFP Audience Choice Award

“Penny Dreadful” was presented with the IFP Audience Choice Award on May 8th! Thanks to everyone who came out to CUFF Program A and voted for us!

“Penny” Selected as A Top Film by the Columbia. U Faculty!

We’re proud to announce that “Penny Dreadful” was chosen by the faculty as one of the top films in the 2012 Columbia University Film Festival!

The film will play again as part of the Faculty Selects Program on May 10th in NYC, and then again on June 12th in LA.  Congrats to all of the filmmakers who are being honored in the categories below!

Thursday, May 10 @ 7:00pm
Faculty Selects Film Screening & Awards Ceremony
Symphony Space
Peter Jay Sharp Theatre
2537 Broadway at 95th Street

Buy tickets here. ($20, includes admission to the CUFF closing party).

Tuesday, June 12 @ 7:00pm
Faculty Selects Film Screening & Alumni Reception
DGA Theatre
7920 Sunset Blvd.

Faculty Selects
Five Years
Penny Dreadful
Reza Hassani Goes to the Mall
Three Light Bulbs
A World for Raúl

Faculty Honors
Derby Kings
Lambing Season
The Louder the Better
Ratitas (Scoundrels)
Soul Winner

“Penny” Kills at Columbia University Film Fest!

Cast and Crew at the Premiere

Thanks to everyone who came out to Lincoln Center for the premiere yesterday! We had a packed house for “Penny Dreadful.” Lots of laughs and smiles all around!  Our composer Ljova and our Sound Designer Julian Evans were also on hand. (From L to R) Rob Cristiano (Producer), Shane Atkinson (Director), Oona Laurence (Little Girl), Richard Busser (Randy), Gary Betsworth (Mr. Andersen)